The Founders of Dancecyprus aspire to provide a permanent, professional company to uplift and entertain our audiences and to inspire dancers and choreographers to believe they have a future in this country.

Dancecyprus has the following aims:

  • To perform a repertoire in a variety of styles. The repertoire will also include performances in which part of the program will be music only.
  • To encourage artists to be inspired by Cypriot heritage and culture, thus developing the company’s Cypriot identity.
  • To create new works.
  • To promote performance opportunities for professional dancers and musicians from Cyprus and abroad.
  • To extend audiences by providing easy access to a broad spectrum of dance.
  • To develop understanding and enjoyment of dance by imaginative programming, lectures, lecture-demonstrations, informal talks, interviews, etc.
  • To act as cultural ambassadors abroad.
  • To cooperate with other charities where appropriate.

Artistic Director

Carolina Constantinou

Honorary Founders

Christina Arestis – Soloist of The Royal Ballet, United Kingdom
Antonio Colandrea – Choreographer,Balletto di Toscana and MaggioDanza, Italy
Soteris Georgallis
Martino Tirimo – Concert Pianist, Conductor and Composer


Christakis Christofides, Catherine Dawson, Lellos Demetriades, Pamela Groves,                Katerina Ker-Lindsay, Jacqueline Owen, Alecos Shantos, Androula Vassiliou, Joris Vreede


Bryony Brind – Former Principal Dancer of The Royal Ballet, United Kingdom
Martino Tirimo – Concert pianist, Conductor and Composer


Catherine Dawson – Development & Education
Jenny Iacovou
Katerina Ker-Lindsay
Jacqueline Owen  – Chairman
Alecos Shantos – Honorary Chairman
Harry Sophoclides


Design Associate – Andy Bargilly
Legal Counsel- Lellos Demetriades of Demetriades & Associates
Auditors – KPMG
Wardrobe Mistress – Malvina Michaelidou
Technical Director – Yiangos Hadjiyiannis
Hair Styling – Hugo Bauwens
Associate – Pamela Groves

Company Members

Aris Arestis
Andy Bargilly
Christakis Christofides
Catherine Dawson
Jane Dawson
Lellos Demetriades
Nairy Der Arakelian-Merheje
Pamela Groves
Frosso Hadjigeorgiou
Katerina Ker-Lindsay
Eri Nicolaidou
Jacqueline Owen
Paschalis Paschali
Alecos Shantos
Harry Sophoclides
Demetris Tackoushis
Androula Vassiliou
Joris Vreede

Choreographers to date

Ray Barra
Mauro Bigonzetti
Antonio Colandrea
Carolina Constantinou
Nacho Duato
Mauro de Candia
Julien Ficely
Benvido Fonseca
Itzik Galili
Fransisco Lorenzo
Marius Petipa
Liam Scarlett
Martin Schläpfer